“akb48.com” for sale on Yahoo Auction

Fans of idol group AKB48 surely must have been dumbfounded when they found out that someone is selling the domain “akb48.com” for 10 million Yen (120,000 USD) on Japan’s largest auction site, “Yahoo! Auction“.

It is pretty common to trade Internet domains for large amounts, but not so in Japan. In fact, it might become the highest ever amount of money a domain has gone on sale for in the history of Japan.

It seems strange that the company behind the idol group hasn’t yet tried to acquire such a perfect domain for themselves, but most people still don’t believe that the auction is a prank. The exhibitor had already made himself a name for selling a lot of concert tickets and other merchandise and therefore many are trusting him that he really is going to auction off the domain.

Nobody knows who he really is. The domain information says that it is registered to a person called “Taro Yamada”, but people doubt that this is his true name. When looking at the date of the registration, it also becomes clear that he simply must have been faster than the people around Akimoto Yasushi, the producer of AKB48. “akb48.com” was registered in January of 2006, three months earlier than the official domain of the idol group, “akb48.co.jp”, in April.

Ironically, people who are trying to access akb48.com now are being redirected to the official homepage of “Hello!Project“, another major idol umbrella corporation in Japan. The redirection has been active since today.

There are concerns whether or not the company behind AKB48 is going to force to take down the domain by making use of the “Unfair Competition Prevention Law”, since “AKB48″ is a registered trademark. However, the exhibitor is still going to sell the domain, but he already declared that there won’t be a refund in case the law is really going to take down the domain.

No biddings have been made since its start on the Monday. The auction will continue until January 30th.

Source: zakzak


discussion

We welcome your comments, but please be civil, DO NOT SPAM and STAY ON TOPIC. Comments deemed inappropriate will be removed and repeat abusers will be banned. Commenting is a privilege that will be revoked for violations of our Comment Policy.

Comments from our old comments platform are still in the process of moving over. If you notice any comments missing they will likely re-appear soon. Thank you for your patience.

  • Ulrock7777

    Interesting. It’ll probably be taken down for trademark though.
    and lol at how H!P’s brought into it

  • yassie

    now this is interesting! lol i think that person is really smart, whoever he is, but i also think he’s not that ordinary. they might challenge the domain name but wasn’t it created before the official site? not that i care but the funniest thing in this story is the redirection to H!P, haha of all sites why the rival company? lol haah~ ^-^

  • http://twitter.com/katLovelie katlovelie

    i tried it out of curiosity. and it did went to Hello!Project. :lol

  • YukiNozofan

    I don’t get why it goes to H!P site but yay for free publicity for H!p <3

  • orangeflowerlove

    O_O wow.

  • orangeflowerlove

    O_O wow.

  • joe.oppa

    I noticed that the other day..I went to Yahoo auction and searched AKB48..and the domain came up o_o

  • joe.oppa

    I noticed that the other day..I went to Yahoo auction and searched AKB48..and the domain came up o_o

  • 303aegiszx

    Very smart. Nice way to make easy money.

  • KatPianist

    Wow,the exhibitor must be very smart,this is interesting,huh? Let’s see how this going to turn out.

  • Neika

    smart business move, why hasn’t the creator of AKB48 ever acquired a dot com, but anyways this guy beat them to it and he’s about to make some money…

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_7F2M4SIYWRQQHLV324ITPZHKBA NancyN

    that’s the point of the owner, he trying to get the created of akb48 to buy it or fans cause they’re would be consider rivals.

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_FKAYR7W3FHFUEFYY2Z6AOBWJKQ hunterskill

    “It seems strange that the company behind the idol group hasn’t yet tried to acquire such a perfect domain for themselves”

    LOL. Perfect domain my ass. AKB48.CO.JP is the most perfect of them all.

    wrong thinking from the article source that money can be made out of AKB48.COM as Aki-P has been selling already quite a lot with his existing domain name. poor seller, he probably thinks AKS doesn’t know how to market themselves without a .COM domain.

    ULTIMATE FAIL. :D

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_FKAYR7W3FHFUEFYY2Z6AOBWJKQ hunterskill

    “It seems strange that the company behind the idol group hasn’t yet tried to acquire such a perfect domain for themselves”

    LOL. Perfect domain my ass. AKB48.CO.JP is the most perfect of them all.

    wrong thinking from the article source that money can be made out of AKB48.COM as Aki-P has been selling already quite a lot with his existing domain name. poor seller, he probably thinks AKS doesn’t know how to market themselves without a .COM domain.

    ULTIMATE FAIL. :D

  • atarashi.michi

    now it redirects you to bandai’s idolmaster~

    but this line is stupid:
    “It seems strange that the company behind the idol group hasn’t yet tried to acquire such a perfect domain for themselves”
    um no. akb48.co.jp is the correct name because it simply means that the website is of japanese origin.
    alot of websites CHOOSE the end .co.jp over .com