Music Releases
Posted by 0 pt Tuesday, July 26, 2011

American-born singer JAMIL to release first album, "American Shounen"


On August 3rd, American-born pop singer JAMIL will release his first album, "American Shounen"!

After releasing the music video for his song "BOKUMAMA ~Mou Hitotsu no Tanjoubi~" through YouTube on July 15th, JAMIL's video raked in a ton of distinctions. It was in the weekly ranking for animated videos, was the third highest-rated video (for July 20th), ranked 18th in terms of hits (for July 21st), and topped one of Recochoku's daily ranking charts. The PV was entirely illustrated by picture book artist Mitsue Yusaku, whose charming drawings tell the story of a boy who has no confidence in himself as he finds what makes him complete.

Despite not being a native speaker, JAMIL used Japanese to write the entire song. "I wrote this song with my good friend Futoshi from Aqua Timez, but I feel like this song expresses the things I really wanted to convey," he wrote on his official blog.

JAMIL's debut album will contain "BOKUMAMA ~Mou Hitotsu no Tanjoubi~", as well as "The Rock City Boy" (opening theme to the television show "FAIRY TALE"). It will also hold his first single "Kataomoi no Omoikata", and his collaboration with JEFF MIYAHARA ("Futari de Nakucha") for a total of eleven tracks.

Check out the PV for "BOKUMAMA ~Mou Hitotsu no Tanjoubi~", as well as the track list and cover to "American Shounen" below!


"American Shounen"

< Track List >
01. Kataomoi no Omoikata
02. The Rock City Boy
03. Get Away feat. Lafa Taylor
04. Sora wo Koete
05. Futari de Nakucha
06. BOKUMAMA ~Mou Hitotsu no Tanjoubi~
07. Fall Up
08. I miss you
09. Ooki na Ki no Shita
10. I'm here, you're there
11. Keep On

Source + Photos: Barks

  1. JAMIL
0 32,003 Share Be the first to vote
2 days ago   0   532
2 days ago   0   532
Tuesday, May 5, 2020   1   2,568

tokyohive in your Inbox

New Message