Concerts / Events


Aiba Masaki & Kuroki Meisa chosen as "Best Jeanist 2011"

October 5, 2011 @ 9:21 pm
  • 0
  • 16936
  • 0

On October 5th, an awards ceremony was held to recognize the winners of the "28th Annual Best Jeanist 2011 Awards". The awards are given out based on a national vote as various celebrities are voted on who suits jeans the most.

This year, Arashi's Aiba Masaki and actress Kuroki Meisa were chosen as "Best Jeanist" for the very first time.

Aiba expressed, "I can't believe it. We [Arashi] have a segment on our show where our outfits are evaluated, and I receive severe criticism all the time. With this, I can get back at them. " While looking at the award, he said with a smile, "I'm going to make this my heirloom."

Aiba appeared at the event wearing a jacket and damaged jeans. He shared, "I decided on this last night, but the members [of Arashi] suggested things like, 'Why don't you cut it around here?' and 'Instead of jeans, why don't you wear a jeans jacket?'. I didn't consider any of the members' suggestions."

Meanwhile, Kuroki wore black jeans, a white jacket, and heels. She expressed, "I've worn jeans everyday since long ago, so it's like a dream. [When I heard about the award], I thought 'it's here!'. Then did the 'guts pose'." Regarding her outfit, she said, "I chose something composed." Then, Aiba gazed at Kuroki as he said, "This is something only Kuroki-san can do. I give it 200 points."

The general division winners were selected by votes from postcard and internet. Aiba had 11,942 votes, while Kuroki received 4,380 votes. Other than this category, the association prepares awards based on the decision of the council members. In this category,actress Maya Miki, talento Wakatsuki Chinatsu, and former pro boxer Onizuka Katsuya were selected.

Additionally, soccer player Nagatomo Yuto received the "Global Special Fighting Spirit Award". This award started up in 2010 to recognize Japanese Jeanists abroad.

The Best Jeanist Awards was first established in 1984 to spread the quality of jeans. When chosen in the "General Election Category" five times in a row, the celebrity is put into the Hall of Fame. Past winners for the awards includeKimura Takuya, Kusanagi Tsuyoshi, Kamenashi Kazuya, Hamasaki Ayumi, and Koda Kumi.

Check out pictures from the event below!

[gallery link="file" columns="4"]

Source + Photos: Mantan Web


There are 0 comments

Login With...

Sort by: